About

IMG_0019

My name is Harry Wilson, I am a performance maker and researcher based in Glasgow. I graduated from Theatre Studies at the University of Glasgow in 2008 and completed a Masters by research on devised theatre in 2011.

In October 2014, I started an AHRC funded practice-as-research PhD project exploring the relationships between performance and photography. Specifically I am using Roland Barthes’s reflections on photography in Camera Lucida (1980) to explore ideas of temporality, trauma and affect in contemporary performance dramaturgies. The project seeks to read and compose performance through and in response to Camera Lucida, in order to think through ideas of visuality, corporeality, and trauma in and between the disciplines of performance and photography. In undertaking this research I hope to further explore the usefulness of Barthes’s work in theorising and practising performance, as well as exploring what performance practice might offer to Barthes scholarship.

Throughout the course of my PhD I will be using this blog to document and reflect on my research process.

More information on my previous work as a performance maker can be found on my website below:

www.harryrobertwilson.com

Leave a Reply

